In Memoriam Robert Havern, 1949-2014

We join in mourning the loss and honoring the life of Robert A. Havern III, who devoted many years to serving the people of Arlington and the Commonwealth. He served on the Board of Selectmen, was elected our State Representative in 1986, and served as our State Senator from 1991 to 2007. He was a member of the Arlington Democratic Town Committee from 1984 to 1996.

As the Boston Globe reports, Sen. Havern was assistant majority whip in the Senate and was the Senate chairman of the Joint Committee on Transportation. He played a major role in garnering votes in favor of LGBT rights, including same-sex marriage.

Chair Aimee Coolidge adds, "Nothing brought you back to why you are Democrat like a conversation with Senator Havern. He walked the talk and legislated with a set of liberal values that served this Commonwealth well. And no one did it with a better wit. As sad as we are at his passing, we are so proud to claim him as one of ours. He will be missed, and our condolences go to his family and friends."

Our Democratic Elected Officials In Washington

Picture of Obama Picture of Joe Biden

Barack Obama

Vice President
Joe Biden

Picture of Warren Picture of Markey Picture of Clark

Elizabeth Warren

Ed Markey

Katherine Clark

Our Democratic Elected Officials On Beacon Hill

Picture of Donnelly Picture of Garballey Picture of Rogers

Ken Donnelly

Sean Garballey

Dave Rogers